Phone Support


Email Support


Odumase campus (1938–1968)


ɔdadeɛ” (baobab tree)

The school was started in Odumase after a Ghanaian educationist of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana, E. A. W. Engmann, continued to lobby and push for the establishment of a church boys’ school.[9] This came to fruition in 1938 with the first group of 16 boys and four teachers. Rev. Engmann was the first headmaster.

The Odumase campus housed German missionaries, then a primary school and then a government survey school before becoming the Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School.

One of the traditions of the school is the “ɔdadeɛ” (baobab tree) located on the campus. An alumnus of the school is referred to as “Ɔdadeɛ”.[8] The baobab tree is a Ghanaian symbol of knowledge, resourcefulness and strength. New students were traditionally initiated at the feet of this tree clad in bedsheets and powdered faces. PRESEC was located here until 1968 when it was moved to its current location at Legon, Mile 9.

Legon campus (1968 to date)

In September 1968, the new campus at Legon just north east of the University of Ghana campus at Mile 9, received its first set of students.[10] At the new campus, it continued as a boys’ boarding secondary school until the mid-1970s when the sixth form was upgraded to the National Science College. Female students were admitted into the sixth form in small numbers from September 1975. They continued to be part of the student body until June 1996 when the last batch left.[11]

PRESEC dining hall
PRESEC dining hall
Classroom facilities of the Presbyterian Boys' Secondary School
Classroom facilities of the Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School

The Legon campus started with four student boarding houses. Three were named after notable Presbyterian leaders as Kwansa House, Clerk House and Engmann House. The fourth was named Akro House after the people of Krobo Odumase. The next two houses to be built were Riis House and Labone House. With the completion of the National Science College buildings, Ako-Adjei House and Owusu-Parry House were added (the latter named after the first Senior Prefect). Another house, House 9, admitted its first residents in September 2010 as well as a new house, House 10.


2002 Civic Education Club handing-over ceremony
2002 Civic Education Club handing-over ceremony.
PRESEC wins Coke Hits, 2011
PRESEC wins NIIT, 2008
PRESEC wins NIIT, 2008
PRESEC wins Coke Hits, 2011
Initial PRESEC, Legon emblem
Initial PRESEC, Legon emblem







Notable alumni:

Politics, government, and public policy

Lt. Gen. F. W. K. Akuffo – Head of State of Ghana (5 July 1978 – 4 June 1979)

Michael Paul Ansah – Minister of State in the third republic

Theodore Obo Asare Jnr – Economist and Member of Parliament for Akan Bowiri in the first republic

Mark Assibey-Yeboah – Economist and Member of Parliament for New Juaben South 6th and 7th parliament, Chairman of the 7th Parliament’s Finance Committee

Kwaku Boateng – Minister of Education and Minister of Interior in the first republic

Kwesi Botchwey – Ghana’s longest-serving Minister of Finance (1982–1995), Chairman of Ghana National Gas Development Task Force

Fuseini Issah – Member of Parliament – Okaikwei North since January 2017

Aaron Mike Oquaye – Speaker of the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic (2017–2021), former Minister of Communication (2005–2009)

Mike Oquaye Jnr – Diplomat

Kofi Portuphy – former National Coordinator, National Disaster Management Organization and former National Chairman-National Democratic Congress

Erasmus Isaac Preko – Member of parliament during the first republic, Minister of Fuel and Power (1965 – 1966)

Andrews Kwabla Puplampu – Minister for Lands (1965 – 1966)

Bright Simons – IMANI Ghana and 2012 World Economic Forum (WEF), Young Global Leader (YGL)

Alex Tettey-Enyo – former Minister of Education

Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus Glover – Member of Parliament for Tema East since 2013

Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa – Member of Parliament – North Tongu, former Deputy Minister of Education (2013–2016)

Benard Oko-Boye-Member of Parliament – Ledzokuku Constituency in the Greater Accra Region, Deputy Minister of Health

Ato Ulzen-Appiah – Director of the GhanaThink Foundation and named amongst most influential young Africans

Eugene Arhin- Director of Communications at the Presidency (2017-)


Kwabena Boahen – Professor of Bioengineering and Neuromorphic Engineering, Stanford University

Ernest Aryeetey – Vice-Chancellor of University of Ghana – Legon (2010–2016)

  1. Bamfo-Kwakye – Vice-Chancellor of Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) (1974–1983)

George C. Clerk – pioneering Ghanaian botanist and phytopathologist

Nicholas T. Clerk – Ghanaian academic, administrator and Presbyterian minister, former Rector of GIMPA

John Owusu Gyapong, vice chancellor of the University of Health and Allied Sciences

Eric Yirenkyi Danquah – Founding Director of West Africa Centre for Crop Improvement (WACCI) and winner of the World Agriculture Prize (WAP)

Arts and entertainment

Augustine Abbey (Idikoko) – owner of Great Idikoko Ventures and President of Film Producers Association of Ghana

John Apea – Actor and movie director

Kwaku Sintim-Misa – Ghanaian actor, political satirist, and host of Thank God it’s Friday

Kwasi Kyei Darwkah – Ghanaian broadcaster and master of ceremonies

Dancegod Lloyd – Ghanaian dancer and choreographer.


Ezekiel Ansah – American football defensive end

Reuben Ayarna – Footballer, Defensive Midfielder for the Kuopion Palloseura in Finland

Benjamin Azamati-Kwaku – Member of the Ghana 4×100 relay team and International Champion[30]

Isaac Kissi – footballer

Andrew Owusu – international triple jump champion[31]

Corporate, business, and finance

Jonathan Herbert Frimpong-Ansah – former Governor of the Bank of Ghana[32]

Lucy Quist – first Ghanaian woman to become the CEO of a multinational telecommunications company in Ghana

Patricia Obo-Nai – CEO Vodafone Ghana

Kris Senanu – Ghanaian Kenyan Business Executive


Nene Amegatcher – active Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana (2018–)

Kofi Barnes – Judge of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in Canada

Benjamin Kwakye – Harvard Law School graduate, author, lawyer and winner of the 2006 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book (Africa Region)


Victor Kofi Agawu – Professor of Music, Princeton University

Elom Adablah – also known as EL, rapper, and musician (Artiste of the Year at the 2015/2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards)

Hammer of The Last Two – producer and sound engineer

Ball J – sound engineer and record producer

Jayso – Ghanaian rapper and record producer

Choirmaster – member of ‘Praye’ music group


Bernard Avle – Ghanaian media personality and broadcast journalist

Emmanuel Agbeko Gamor – journalist

Gary Al-Smith – Sports Journalist

Louis Kwame Sakyiamah (Lexis Bill) – Ghanaian media personality